On the second day of CNY, my mother and I decided to go to the Istana for its open house. Okay, more like I persuaded her to go with me. In all my 22 years living on this little red dot, I had never once been to the President’s Istana – which if you ask me is quite shameful as a Singaporean. We, as citizens, should go to these important historical sites right? If it’s not up to us to maintain and preserve our national heritage, who else? So, we went.

IMG_4952IMG_4953

It really is quite a beautiful place and the weather was tolerable for once; not too hot or rainy, even though weather forecasts predicted a rainy CNY holiday. Just that we had to tolerate the long queues. We waited for about 50 minutes (I timed it on my phone!) but it was fine cos the line kept slowly inching forward so it didn’t feel so much like a drag. The guy in front of us smelled like he hadn’t bathed for a few days though (Seriously people what is wrong with bathing twice a day? We live in a tropical island. Sweat happens. Shower twice a day!)

IMG_4966IMG_4975IMG_4969

50 minutes later and we’re in. There’s quite a lot to see and do. There was a swan pond, some bird exhibits brought by Wildlife Reserve Singapore and there was even a marching band! Seeing Swiss Cottage perform and do some marching really brings back the secondary school memories. Things were so much simpler then. Ah, the innocence of youth. I probably sound like an old grandmother and not a 22 year old right now but things really were easier then.

In the end, I did have loads of fun walking around the Istana. The crowds were worth it and I can finally tick this off my bucket list! Also, I hit my daily 10k steps which is quite a feat. I definitely recommend going to the Istana Open House on any of the public holidays.

2 thoughts on “Celebrating CNY at the Istana.

Leave a Reply

