Lately, my Japanese wanderlust feels have been off the charts. To the point that I’m not paying attention in class but instead searching for cheap flights to Tokyo and looking at possible dates to go (possibly in May before Ramadan starts). I can’t help it. I just want to go to Yoyogi Park, visit the Meiji Shrine, Akibaraha, Shijuku, go to cat cafes and just immerse myself in all the Japan-ness. Not to mention all the authentic food, oh my goodness.

I partly blame this on a short film I’ve recently watched called Garden of Words or Kotonoha no Niwa, directed and edited by the very talented Makoto Shinkai. He also did 5 Centimetres per Second which is another movie that made me tear up. He just has this way with his work where although the material isn’t very fast-paced, it makes you feel all the feels. Anyway, why I blame Garden of Words is cos the animation was really very beautiful and it’s inspired by a real park in Tokyo called the Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. I’d really like to visit that one day.

I’m currently in the midst of persuading the mother to come along with me for a week after I officially end school so wish me luck! I’m willing to pay for everything so she should just come along right hahaha.

To stave off these Japan feels, I always come back to this Dan and Phil video. It’s the perfect Tokyo adventure for me and I can’t wait to experience it for myself!

Leave a Reply

