Little anecdotes.

This post might not make a lot of sense since it’s about the little moments in my life. Let’s do this.

#1: Sign of a great friendship

So, we Kambengs went on a Jalan Raya the last few days of Syawal a couple of weeks back. Thinking about it, it might even be our last ever, since next year Amira will be married and married life can be a little hectic (she’s gonna live in Woodlands!) and that made me a bit sad. I’m happy for her upcoming stage of life but come December, I feel like the group’s dynamic might be a little different.

Anyway, I just decided to enjoy the present rather than ruminating and getting anxious about the future and I’m glad I did. It was really a great time spent together. When we were at Amira’s place, Amira pointed out that the guy currently on television always reminded her of me cos it seemed like he’d be the perfect type for me. In her own words, “He’s cute and a bit awkward but not in a bad way and he’s really funny.” She was referring to Donal Skehan, the host of Grandma’s Boy. I’ve seen his shows a couple times browsing the channels mindlessly and I have to say, Amira is pretty spot on. Looking back, my past crushes has always been on cute people that are a bit awkward but has a great sense of humour. I’ve just never been able to categorise or see it so clearly before.

I was just a bit blown away that even after 7 years of leaving secondary school, she still knows me pretty well. I’ll admit, I even felt a bit touched.

#2: Mini-feature on TNP

In case you didn’t know, I run a bookstagram account (@bookmosaic). I’ve always been a bit too in love with books and words and language and what better way to showcase this love in the digital age than setting up an Instagram account? I think it’s a bit over a year since I’ve started and even though I might not have a lot of followers, it’s one of my little delights. I like taking photos. I like books. Bookstagram’s perfect for me.

Since I didn’t have a lot of followers, I thought I wasn’t really making much of an impact online. Which is not necessarily a bad thing. But yes, I was thoroughly surprised when my Book Friend Priscilla mentioned that we were part of a local feature on reading in The New Paper (link: here) It’s just a small mention near the end of the article but it seriously made my day!

Leave a Reply

