Awake. #recommendationwednesday

Long time no see, Cerebro. Life has been a bit busy these past few days but before I write a post about recent updates, I thought it’s about time I post something for this series.

And surprise, surprise, it’s BTS. More specifically, my ultimate bias in kpop land, Kim Seokjin. Bangtan recently released their second full album ‘WINGS’ and every track is amazing. Does not top HYYH Pt. 2 for me (god, that was a masterpiece) but I love how every track paints a bigger comprehensive picture even though individually they have different styles. All the members have solo tracks too (bless whoever in Big Hit who made this decision)!

Now, when Awake was first teased in Jin’s short trailer, I knew the song would slay me when the full studio version drops. I knew the lyrics were somewhat sad. What I didn’t know was how much it would affect me. I’m talking about how it’s the middle of the night (1 AM SG time) and I’m listening to the whole song for the first time while tearing up. Being a mostly emotionally numb sort of person, this reaction completely took me by surprise. Add on to the fact that there were no lyric videos available yet. Oh god. I talked to Sya about this and she said “well, since music is a universal language, you probably felt sad cos of the instrumental music and the intonation of his voice”. And I 100% agree. Seokjin sounded so sad in the verses but full of hope by the time the chorus hits, I couldn’t help but cry. He has grown so much since their debut days and I know he’s worked so hard and made sacrifices that we, as fans, probably don’t know of, and I’m just so proud seeing or rather hearing him slay that ballad. Apparently, he also wrote the lyrics and composed the song and oh god this man. He’s going to go on doing so many more amazing things.

My favourite lyrics are probably this:

Maybe I, I can never fly

저기 저 꽃잎들처럼
I can’t fly like the flower petals over there

날갤 단 것처럼은 안 돼
Or as though I have wings

Maybe I, I can’t touch the sky

그래도 손 뻗고 싶어
Still, I want to stretch my hand out

달려보고 싶어 조금 더
I want to run, just a bit more

It’s sad that he thinks he’s not as talented as everybody else in the group but he doesn’t let it bother him. He still perseveres and works hard. And I can relate to that feeling so much. I’m not the most talented person in the family or amongst friends. But I shouldn’t let it get in the way of me working hard to achieve my own set of successes. Gah, this song is so inspiring.

This was a rather rambly post, wasn’t it? I would apologise but then again it was the only way I could get my feelings across over how I feel about it. I just love this song to bits.

Leave a Reply

