One of my favourite bands finally went on BBC Radio 1’s Piano Sessions to perform one of my favourite songs. I feel like this song is so old but also new. I first heard it when they played it as part of their set during their gig here – and that was back in early 2015? When I first heard the song, surrounded by the crowd pulsating to the beat, I immediately fell in love with it.

The thing about me is that when I hear English songs, it’s not the lyrics that matter to me. It’s the melody and the beat and the bass. (Interesting note: the reverse is true for when I listen to Japanese or Korean songs. The lyrics matter the most for those songs. I don’t know why.) So I was hooked line and sinker when I heard how gothic this song was. It reminds me so much of my emo days during secondary school but in a more sophisticated way haha.

Also, I teared a bit when I watched this video. I think it has something to do with how intimate it all felt…? But it also brings back memories of me in band and how everyone worked together to create a piece of beautiful music. The little glances they all shared with one another in the video and how clearly happy they are to be in a band just gets to me :’)

Leave a Reply

