Hello! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? The main update with me is that I’ve started my new temp job! It’s certainly been a learning curve but I am hopefully adapting well – maybe too well, according to A (the person I directly report to), she was astonished at how fast I work haha maybe I should pace myself. I now know how to update the website which is very cool haha. Unexpectedly, I also need to do some Malay to English translations at work so I’m thankful that my Malay has not rusted over the years. Definitely took a while to get the gears running again but it’s a well-oiled machine now. I’ve also worked some outreach events! I think they’re the most interesting part of the job cos I meet Singaporeans from all walks of life and see how government policies really affect them. Certainly eye-opening.

I went back to Temb last Friday too for the Alumni CNY dinner! It was really nice to see familiar faces again and I always feel at home whenever I’m there. Also talked a bit to Jon Heng! It really is wonderful when you have effortless conversations – especially when I think about how I was so shy during that first Temb camp and Jon was one of my OGLs. I still have the set of nice letters that everyone wrote for me at the end of camp. Everyone said I was “too quiet but still friendly” lol. I’d like to think I have changed a bit since those times and am more open to strangers now.

I also met my mentor last Tuesday for lunch at the National Gallery. Another place I need to add on my To Visit list. We talked about my new job and I am just so thankful that she hooked me up with this opportunity. I mean I did have to ace the interview but she did put in a good word for me that helped me get the interview in the first place.

Another thing that I just started is volunteering my Mondays after work at my local Meet-the-People session. I’ve always wanted to give back to society after all they’ve done for me and I think my new job + this MPS session are good steps towards that goal. It is certainly interesting. I’ve attended one session so far so I’ve only observed how they do the petition writing report. There was one point where a lady almost broke into tears telling how she needed financial help to cope with all her personal problems. I just wanted to give her a hug but it wasn’t appropriate in that setting :/

The last thing I’ve done so far is that I went to Park Bo Gum’s fanmeeting last night! That deserves a post of its own cos I need to share the wonderful photos but I just have to say that he is the nicest celebrity I’ve ever met. So sincere, so kind, and very down-to-earth. He’s made it to the top of my K-Actors list (sharing a spot with Kang Ha Neul hehe). The next 2 weeks are going to be super busy with post-Budget stuff/outreach events but I’ll make time to write that post, sometime in the next week!

I hope the week ahead will treat all of you well 🙂

Leave a Reply

