strong-woman-do-bong-soon

I just have to recommend this show. It’s hilarious, it’s dark at times, and the chemistry between the two leads is so adorable to watch.

Here’s the premise of the show – Do Bong Soon is a girl born with superhuman strength. Her strength is due to her genes and is passed down only to the women in her family. One of her life goals is to design a game with herself as the main character. She also wants to become an elegant woman to meet the ideal type of her crush and long-time friend, Gook Du who is now a police officer. Thanks to her strength (and a series of funny encounters), she becomes the bodyguard of spoiled rich heir Ahn Minhyuk, the CEO of a gaming company. Minhyuk is the complete opposite of Gook Du, in the sense that he is arrogant and has no regard for rules. He has recently received anonymous death threats, hence the hiring of Bong Soon. There’s also a serial murder case happening in Bong Soon and Gook Du’s neighbourhood (which is just honestly creepy).

The set-up of the show already intrigued me and Sya when we first heard about it. Add the fact that Park Bo Young is in it and we’re goners. She’s so cute portraying a strong woman when she’s so petite (she’s either my height or just 2cm taller haha). Park Hyung Sik is also in the show and I was excited to see him after watching Hwarang (that show was a bit meh but I liked his acting in it).

The show is really quite good so far! There’s a mix of everything that I love – a bit of romance, a bit of mystery, a bit of murder. Perfect. They’re starting to play up the romance now between the two leads and I find myself unable to stop from smiling when I’m watching. Which tends to be on the MRT cos I have no other time to watch it. So, strangers would often give me curious looks haha.

I’ve also been spreading the love of this show in the office hehehe. I am very happy to report that I have one kdrama kaki at my workplace and she’s hooked now thanks to me *insert sunglasses emoji here* We IM each other on the progress of the show lol.

I hope the writing quality will last throughout the remaining episodes. The thing about kdramas is that it tends to be meh in the middle episodes and I’m praying this show doesn’t suffer from this syndrome. It’s been breaking ratings records which is heartwarming to hear! It’s also PHS’ first lead drama and I’m happy to see it doing well. He deserves it after the flop of Hwarang.

Leave a Reply

