I got the job (for real, this time).

Yep, I got the HR call this week! There’s a bit of an episode behind it too haha. I’ve been having a coughing fit for the past few days or so and it just so happens that HR called me in the middle of one. The HR lady was like are you okay is this a good time haha but I quickly told her yep it’s fine while downing loads of hot water to calm the itchy throat.

But yay, alhamdulillah! After almost a year since graduation (I ended exams May 4th), I’ve finally found a first proper job and thankfully it suits me well. The gross pay is also way higher than I thought – especially since this is the government sector where they look at grades and degrees more and I’m only a second lower Honours grad. I felt a bit of a loss when they told me and legit the first thought that crossed my mind was what am I going to do with the extra money hahaha. I am learning that I am quite bad at financial discipline. I tend to spend it all unless I set aside what I want to save for that month the day my paycheck enters the bank. So, now I’m doing that plus I have 3 budget apps on my phone to keep track of my daily and monthly spendings. It’s quite hard to say no to some purchases that I really want but I always question whether I need it or whether I just want it. Basic questions to ask, I know. But I’m still learning.

Anyway, yes, hopefully I’ll be permanent by May 1st so that I’ll get that permanent pay in June (and spend most of it prepping for Raya cries) and save for Korea!! I get 17 days off a year, but it’ll likely be pro-rated to 10 or 9 days this year by the time I join. It’s okay, that’s enough time for my trip hehe where I plan to apply for 7 days off (my actual trip will be 9 days – thank you weekends).

I actually have loads to update on here (2 posts in mind for Lunchtime Adventures, and other weekend things I’ve been up to) but I just don’t have the time sigh. I’ll try to make time but I think weekends are the best for me, especially since work is piling up.

I’m also been a bit off my reading bandwagon – I still haven’t completed Six of Crows despite the compelling plot and starting it a month or so ago. I watched a video on the 30 Day Reading Challenge today and it inspired me to try it too. I’ll try to read for 30 minutes a day every day, or every weekday and hopefully my reading spark will reignite again.

Leave a Reply

