So this week I’m recommending one of my guilty pleasure shows to watch on Netflix: Terrace House. Actually, I don’t get the term ‘guilty pleasure’. What’s the difference between guilty pleasure shows and just other shows since both categories are for shows I like?

Anyway, Terrace House is a Japanese reality show where they get 6 people – 3 boys, 3 girls – to share one house and there’s no script whatsoever. I mean, that’s what they claim. I’ve gone on Reddit to see if it’s really not scripted but the consensus is that there are specific storylines the producers are going for (inevitable since ratings are what every show is aiming for) but it’s less scripted in the sense that there are no specific lines the cast has to say. I think what’s most interesting is that they have a panel of mostly comedians to react along to the show and sometimes their comments really livened up the show.

Here’s the trailer of the season that I’m currently watching – Boys and Girls in the City:

Ah the simpler times of Minori and Mizuki. Also Uchi and Minori were so cute together huhu.

But my favourite cast member so far (and I suspect till the end of time) is Yuto Handa aka Hansan. HE IS THE EPITOME OF COOL AND MATURE. He’s slightly older than the average cast member but that is not a disadvantage at all; instead it’s a huge bonus. He dispenses advice to the younger members as and when they need it (they often come to him) and he gives it to them and corrects them of their ways but in a manner that does not patronise them at all. Plus he’s so considerate of others and he can read the mood in the room pretty quickly . I tried to find a Youtube clip of him in action but alas no such clips found. Just trust me and watch it. Even the panelists call him Mr Perfect. Gah, I’m gushing over him now aren’t I. HE’S JUST TOO COOL AND I WANT TO MARRY HIM.

 

Leave a Reply

