I’m a bit late to this but last week BBC announced that the 13th Doctor would be Jodie Whittaker. When I first heard the news, what hit me was not the gender (lol that was the furthest thing from my mind) but that I know this name, this name sounds familiar. And it was. She’s one of the main characters from Broadchurch – the grieving mother. The next thought that hit me was omg this will be so good her acting was really good in Broadchurch.

And then, as expected, the internet happened. Seriously at this point, it’s 2017, how does gender matter in a fictional character? It’s not even something of utmost importance, like the gender pay gap, and already some segments of the internet are up in arms that a fictional alien is of the female gender. What. I can’t understand the anger.

What is even more confusing is that it’s pretty much canon that when a Timelord regenerates, everything is up in the air, gender-wise. We had Eleven (Matt Smith) who immediately checked if his parts are there once he completed regeneration. We have The Master who became Missy/Mistress. GENDER SWITCH IS A THING IN DOCTOR WHO. Gah. It’s not even about being politically correct at this point. This gender switch doesn’t feel forced or unnatural cos it’s been a fact of the show for so long.

Honestly, I am looking forward to Thirteen. I have fallen a bit out of the loop with DW but this invigorates me to start watching the seasons with Twelve in them so that I’m caught up by the time Jodie takes the wheel. Idk if she can be in the same league as Ten (ah, he’ll always be my Doctor) but I’m looking forward to it.

And now, I’ll end my post with this fantastic video from NerdyAndQuirky:

 

Leave a Reply

